Me Again

IMG_2441

Asleep in the car after dropping Carl at work

For the first time in weeks both babies are asleep and I am—by choice!—not also napping. Woot woot! We’ve had a lot of sketchy nights in the sleep department, including a stretch where Iris woke up a couple of times in the night and then was up for the day at 5:30am. Carl and I have become quite good at strategizing while half-asleep, and since the air mattress is still set up in our office, there have been a couple of mornings where we either divide the kids up or just take turns getting that last half an hour of sleep in peace.

Eh. We knew there would be hard moments.

There are also a lot of incredibly fun and sweet ones, and in what other job would I get to have two super cute babies fall asleep snuggling me every day? I’m more aware this time just how fast infancy goes, and the awareness makes me enjoy it so much more. It’s hard to believe Oliver is almost a month old already.

Although there are tell-tale signs…

For starters: I’m not asleep right now. I feel pretty great physically. We’ve stopped eating both freezer meals AND fast food. And, maybe most telling, it’s starting to make me twitchy to not be writing anything.

You know you’re getting to the end of recovery when resting, ironically enough, just makes you more restless.

IMG_2446

 

One thought on “Me Again

  1. So glad you’re back to writing, and I always love the pictures! Either Oliver looks more like an Armstrong baby to me, or I’ve transferred the look of your kids to my memories. Can’t wait to see you guys tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

