Week 2: Supplies

IMG_2129You guys, I bought paint!! I seriously wasn’t sure I would/could do it, even though I’ve been thinking about this particular project for weeks now. We were mostly having a family sick day at home today (again. sigh), but I was feeling the need for some time to myself so Carl stayed home with Iris and I decided to wander around a craft store for an hour or so in the afternoon.

I walked through the entire store. I bought a few scrapbooking things because you don’t just walk by a 50% off sale without stocking up on flower embellishments, and then I took the acrylic plunge. I don’t think this is going to be my project for the week, because the project I’m envisioning is going to be kind of big and will probably take me a long time.

But I’m starting it.

And during my inaugural session this evening, I only did ONE thing that Carl informed me would have earned me an F in art school.

Kidding. I mean, he did tell me that, but he’s allowed. He also sat sociably on the floor in the basement with me the whole time I worked, talking about art and watching his grandpa paint when he was a kid, telling me a bunch of stuff about brushes and canvas that would save me a lot of time and frustration if I’d had to figure it out through trial and error.

Feels good to start something new.

 

3 thoughts on “Week 2: Supplies

Leave a Reply

