37/365: Pie to Pie

For those rare (RARE) situations when you find yourself unable to agree with everything your friends and relatives say on Facebook, there is pie. As I like to say (have never said before), “When you can’t see eye to eye, why not see pie to pie?”

As in, “I’ll see you one piece and raise you two.”

I baked my first pumpkin cheesecake yesterday and now that we’re nearing the end of the pan, I can confidently recommend the proceeding. We used my mom’s awesome cheesecake recipe and poured out the bottom layer before adding pumpkin puree (I roasted a pumpkin! My first time not using canned!), cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves and pouring out the rest.

So super amazing delicious, and if you’re watching carbs there’s only a half a cup of sugar in the whole thing. Which isn’t awesome maybe, but is a significant improvement over, say, pumpkin bread, which typically calls for 2-3x the sugar plus all the refined flours.

I am feeling remarkably charitable toward the entire human race.

Well played, cheesecake. Well played.

 

4 thoughts on “37/365: Pie to Pie

  1. Looks incredible. I have a tiny little pumpkin sitting on my table (our only pumpkin, a BAD year for squash). I keep thinking, TODAY is the day I’m going to learn to make something from a fresh pumpkin. But I never do. Good for you for getting out there and doing it.

Leave a Reply

