11/365: Toe Level

Still a bit early for color, but we did see a small assortment of yellows on our way to the park today. A quiet day for the most part, and no photos of Iris as she’s stuffy and crabby. (Me too).

Also: why is it so much easier to be cheerful when things are challenging? I much prefer survival mode, when I expect things to be difficult and am therefore not surprised by the unending, repetitive nature of mothering work. I didn’t feel particularly frustrated while Carl was gone this week. I expected it to be a lot of work, and I ended up having a lot of fun too.

But somehow I always forget that Saturday is exactly the same as Tuesday, and Iris will need to have her diaper changed just as many times on the weekend as she does every other day.

It’s the moment I unconsciously expect to catch a break that gets me every time.

Still.

 

 

2 thoughts on “11/365: Toe Level

  1. I’m not sure why, but maybe we steel ourselves for disasters but think we deserve a rest afterward, when really there’s no such thing as a “rest” usually…it’s just back to life in the slow lane…on an interstate.

  2. “It’s the moment I unconsciously expect to catch a break that gets me every time.” Yes. Me, too. It’s that whole “seeking to save your life, you lose it, and losing your life you find it” sort of thing.

Leave a Reply

