First Swim!

Well, the last two days have been almost unbearable in their complete awfulness. It’s equal parts heartbreaking and maddening to watch your child SCREAM because she wants to sleep so badly and can’t… and is furious that she can’t. At best she falls asleep only to wake up 20 minutes later with the wired eyes of a crazy person.

We are all zombies.

In lieu of our bloodshot eyes, I’ll post about happier times. We made a last-minute weekend jaunt to my parents’ home on Sunday, and it was the perfect getaway. I got to play tennis with Joel. Iris got to be held and beamed upon by the grandparently types. Carl got to sleep in the icebox basement (a distinct privilege after 90 degree days in our no-AC home). We all got to welcome Steve home from his Hawaiian adventures.

And Iris had her first swim.

See? I keep trying to convince myself. There have been good times. There are good times. There will be good times again.

It’s almost working.

6 thoughts on “First Swim!

  1. Aw! She’s so cute in her little summer, swimmy ruffles. ๐Ÿ˜›
    Believing in better times in the midst of a small personal hell is really hard. Zen me more, Baby! I need some help at the moment myself. Baby was all dreamy and perfect and still is but then Reid started teething his two year molars AND got a cold and then I had a hormonal skin reaction and then last night stomach flu decided to make a little swing by our house and grace us an unpleasant thematic echo: strep throat epidemic on Mother’s Day, stomach virus on Father’s Day. WHAT? Who planned this? WHY???? Thinking of you and your bloodshot eyes. Hope she learns to sleep soon, soon, soon for all of your sakes.

  2. I’m so sorry things are so hard right now. You are an amazing mother to bear through this with Iris as she fights, and struggles, and tries to find her way. Your grit and love are inspiring. Someday, you’ll get plenty of sleep each night, and this will all be a memory, but your little girl will feel safe and loved and able to trust because of the foundation you laid in your zombie days.

  3. Loved the light blue/turquoise color in your pictures.. and the swim suit..and Iris’ little chubby arms! So cute! She seems to enjoy it. Amรฉlie can’t wait to meet her! Greetings from Germany ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Your little one looks adorable in that swimsuit! Colic is SO rough. On everyone. My baby went through it, I should say my baby and me and my husband went through it and you really don’t feel like you are alive. I remember one day, turning to my sister and saying that the first 2 months of my baby’s life felt like 2 years due to colic. My baby went through phases of it, too for about the first 10 months. But, he is now 15 months and things are better. Hang in there! The good moments definitely help ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

