The Garden in May

I found this garden stone after the lawn guys came the first time and bushwhacked the long grass at the very back of the backyard. Another one of those things that are not exactly my taste, yet perfect just as they are. I’ve decided there’s something a bit sterile about a space that is 100% to your taste. How dull.

I’ve also noticed that every time I move a stone in the yard roughly one thousand insects come pouring out.

These observations may be related.

Then again, the motto is just about right for the state of our gardening adventure. We’ve got lots of dreams for backyard barbecues and parties, sun lounging and croquet tournaments… but these days we’re still just me, pulling weeds here and there, drawing up plans, keeping an eye on the budding peonies.

Heavy dreaming stuff.

My goal is to have our first garden party for my birthday in September, but we’ll have to see what the summer holds and when Carl gets back on his feet. I did, however, finally start that garden journal I’ve been meaning to start since January. Just a brown parchment style journal, a roll of tape, a sharpie, and some snapshots. The pages are blank—perfect for sketching possible plans and beds.

I hope I actually keep up with it (I am, sadly, the Queen of Unfinished Projects), but given my love of scrapbooking, I think there’s a chance that I may. And maybe especially because it’s supposed to be raw and slapdash—no embellishments or finishing touches required. Just snaps taped and labeled, dreams shared.

In less etherial news, our lawn service guys have been prompt and efficient and pretty much the best thing ever. I could get used to having professionals in my life. The dandelions are even gone. Well, not gone, but at least short enough to no longer be an eyesore.

Ha ha!!! Suburbia accomplished!

Maybe one of these months I’ll actually get around to USING the weed killer I bought for them. We’ll have to see.

The second round of irises in the front garden have bloomed, a luxuriously dense display of purple and white. I’m thrilled to have such a classic color combo and still tickled to discover so many irises in our hand-me-down garden. Iris and this house were just meant to be.

Does anybody know what this last shrub is? We have a set of them separating our drive from our neighbors’ yard (technically, I’m pretty sure the shrubs belong to them, but since nobody’s living there right now, I’m enjoying them without qualm). I love the tiny blossoms, like snow clusters dusting the top of each branch.

Gorgeous stuff.

5 thoughts on “The Garden in May

  1. Yes, I am in love with our lawn service. But I still feel secretly bad about it. It’s like that Garrison Keillor episode of Lake Woebegone Days, where the rich Californians (who wear black even to weddings) show up and mention they have a yard man, and all the Minnesotans are uncomfortable just as if the Californians had nonchalantly announced that they hire someone to cut up their food into teeny tiny little pieces. That’s how I feel. I *ought* to be able to care for my own yard. But I’m not. So there you go. My fabulous service will even weed flower beds, trim shrubs, and mulch (for an extra fee). And I have them do that, too. And we achieve suburbia (sort of). Maybe if I got the kids’ toys off the front lawn.

    In other news, it’s fun to see a pic of my quilt. 🙂 Oh, and I have that same white bush in my yard, but I don’t know what it is. We inherited ours, too. I’m hoping Carlie enlightens us.

  2. I think its a spirea. I just planted one. 🙂 They’re beautiful, and super carefree, they take drought, they take cold, they aren’t eaten by any major pests or animals and they have no real vices. Lovely old fashioned plants. The only way they’d be better is if they were fragrant.

    Your peonies are going to be stunning, your irises are phenomenal, your garden journal is completely inspiring (so badly need to keep one of those) and so are your yard men (I’d have some of those if my spouse thought it a worthy investment). I think you have no reason to be ashamed. Yard work done by professionals is neater, quicker and often more expertly completed than by “civilians” and that leaves you more time to do the creative detail pieces. The real impressive work of a garden is in the design, not in the weed reduction or mowing frequency.

    • Excellent! I was hoping you’d know. I might actually plant a few more now that I know how easy they are. The leaves stayed green all winter, and the flowers are gorgeous (although, as Mom pointed out below, kind of pungent). They sure make a nice separation hedge.

      As far as lawn people go… have you seen Disney’s Sleeping Beauty? I often think of the part where Fauna is going to bake a cake and has her magic do the mixing and frosting. She just wants to put on the candles.

      I like to think of our lawn service as good magic. 🙂

  3. Love it, love it, love it! I have some lavender irises in bloom in front of our house, and some deep purple ones blooming along the drive, with three more clumps to come. I was thinking the same thing: I love irises, and Iris was just meant to be! I also love your dream stone! When I saw it, I thought, “How cool!” Maybe it’s an old-fashioned thing, but I was excited. I’m with Carlie on thinking it’s spirea, especially if it has a bit of a pungent odor that you might not call fragrant. If spirea has a quarter of a vice, that would be it. But, it’s gorgeous, and that definitely beats pungent in my book.

    • Purple irises are my favorite too. I LOVE the deep purple ones you have. Those have always been the ideal iris in my head since I was little.

Leave a Reply

