Learning to sleep alone

Maybe all babies are like this. Iris likes to sleep with at least one part of her body touching mine at all times. I can think of at least 3 child care authors who would be HORRIFIED by this admission, but there have been a good number of days where I calculate we have been in close physical contact for at least 22 hours a day.

This would be fine if I had more servants.

Sadly, I do not.

My new plan during naps is to let her sleep the first 45 while occupying myself with whatever books or naps or daydreaming I have pressing. And then I start edging away. I used to try lying her in her swing or crib, but that usually bought me only 5-8 minutes (yes, I timed it). This seems to work better.

Cute woman.

I was googling madly the other day, trying to figure out how to get her to sleep without being in my arms when I found a Q&A column by a pediatrician. He said it was a stage. He said babies grew out of it after a few months. And then he said, I have never known any parent who, nearing the end of her life, wished she had spent less time holding her child. Relax and try to enjoy it.

Thus the first 45.

Thus the snaps.

Sweet little woman.

6 thoughts on “Learning to sleep alone

  1. Ooh. Look. Look. My last comment went through. I’m so excited.

    Anyway, WOW. This brings back so many memories. When Carissa was a baby, I said in despair, “I’ll never get anything done ever again.” I did exactly what you’ve wound up doing. I held her a lot. And I strategeized about how I was going to make it without servants. I’ve pretty much made peace with the constant contact (although, I still prefer to shower alone in spite of the utter adorableness of a tiny wet baby snuggled on my chest in the shower sling). I estimte that I stay in physical contact with my babies 23 1/2 hours a day. I even perfected a method for getting into my PJ’s while holding a newborn. It was so hard at first. Now I just think it’s SO MUCH FUN. I’m actually really genuinely sad and wistful that those days are nearly over with Elijah. He prefers to sleep in a bed now rather than in the wrap, and when he’s awake, he wants to crawl everywhere.

Leave a Reply

