Political Rants and the Fine Art of Bed-Making

The car’s in the shop, Carl’s at work, I’m knee-deep in an essay draft, and PEOPLE WILL NOT STOP POSTING FOOLISH POLITICAL THINGS ON FACEBOOK.

I’m not talking about thoughtful analysis from either side. I’m not talking about worrying statistics or intelligent musings from people who can genuinely put the welfare of our country above personal vitriol. (And yes, I believe that exists on both sides).

I’m talking about the gunslingers.

Gunslingers with the memory of goldfish.

This is not a good combo, and it’s definitely a buzz-killer when I stop by Facebook for a little mental break from writing. I already unfriended the repeat offenders from my list, but sadly I still see when my current friends comment on my unfriended friends’ foolishness.

Like a former pastor of mine who linked to this article with a picture of Obama’s nose in the air and the caption: “Obama: Jesus would back my tax-the-rich policy.” Followed by anxious/irate/mocking commentary about how Obama shouldn’t try to hide his policies behind religion, about how the American people need to wake up…

You know what I’m talking about.

That’s the gunslinger part. Here’s the goldfish part:

Remember this article? The one with the photo of Bush with a faux halo and the caption: “‘God told me to end the Tyranny in Iraq'”?

Yeah. I believe a lot of time and energy could be saved if we all followed the simple principle I like to called make bed/lie in said. If you groused about the way Bush used God’s name to kill people, then you have every right to grouse about the way Obama wants to use God’s name to tax people. If you didn’t have a problem with the way Bush mixed religion and politics, then I’m pretty sure you’re allowed one judicious eye roll before moving on with your day.

Personally, I’m a big fan of the separation of church and state, because someday (like today, for example) the state’s idea of church isn’t going to exactly correspond with my idea of church, and it’d be nice to avoid all the unpleasantness that entails.

But this is America, where candidates have approximately 0% chance of becoming president if they don’t claim to be some variety of Christian and believe in “strong family values.” It doesn’t matter if they actually EXHIBIT strong family values. They just need to believe in them.

This, incidentally, is why I started making grumbly noises as soon as one of the recent debates kicked off. When the candidates were invited to say a few words about themselves and their candidacy, the smug was so thick you could cut it with a knife. I’ve been married fifty years. I have 5 sons. I’m the ONLY veteran on the stage today. Good grief. If I were a business owner that hired employees for the same reasons people vote for presidents… I would be breaking the law.

That should be a problem.

That’s all I have to say about that. Resume your link sharing, Facebookers, and have a happy weekend.

3 thoughts on “Political Rants and the Fine Art of Bed-Making

  1. Heh. Yeah, pretty much. These days all politics manage to inspire in me is a lot of eye rolling and the occasional cold shudder. The current contest between the power-hungry communists (with strong family values!) and the power-hungry fascists (also with strong family values!) is a circus as usual. I gave up bothering with it. When my friends post political stuff on Facebook, I don’t normally pay attention long enough to read the entire headline. I’m looking for stuff I like, like a pic of my friend’s new upcycled sweater turned diaper bag or a heart-melting angora goat. It’s more peaceful that way. Facebook is like a dog–cuddly when kept in its place, but messy, and yappy, and even prone to bite if I lose control.

    • True story. I actually almost posted something today about missing the pre-political rant days when Facebook was about cute pictures and food updates. But then I figured that would probably just get a lot of annoyed political backlash from both sides. SIGH.

Leave a Reply

