Almost ready, little stranger

Meant to sit down and write yesterday.

Meant to do a lot of things yesterday, but it turned out to be one of those two-steps-forward-one-step-back kind of days. For those of you who don’t know me in real life, my mom lives two hours away and I don’t have any bio sisters, so the M agreed to come to my side of the state to throw my baby shower. Which is fabulous on the one hand and on the other meant a lot of cleaning and last-minute projecting and general tears of frustration.

My brother called to discuss work stuff the other morning, and caught me in one of those bad, throat scratchy and defeated moments. “It’s just my shower,” I moaned. Jon was instantly solicitous, sincere, and so sorry to hear.

…. did he need to get off the phone so I could call a plumber or something?

Cute man.

I wish they made plumbers for baby showers. I would’ve called one pronto. Then again, things came together, I finally got the house clean and some of the food prepped around midnight, while Carl finished painting the trim in the living room and pulled off the tape. And now my Fruit Loops are gone, and the shower’s calling. My lovely and handy friend Jenn is going to be along in an hour, and things are going to be ok.

In fact, they might be spiffy.

And the little woman is well on her way to having everything a little woman really needs. And maybe a little extra.

Ok, maybe a lot extra. Oops.

3 thoughts on “Almost ready, little stranger

  1. I am sorry for the overwhelmed feeling that comes with all the planning– I understand for sure. It was a really fun shower though. So glad we could come.

  2. So glad I’m not the only one who freaks out about parties and company. I am not a major introvert so I always blame it on being such a horrifying housekeeper. I know that’s not your problem so, maybe I am just human after all and not a major screw-up.

Leave a Reply

