Ah, politics…

Anyone else weary of the debt crisis debate?

I don’t know about you, but for me listening to political speeches is a lot like listening to random strangers complain about their marriages. First because the problems are never actually the problems. Sure, the United States has problems. Everybody has problems. But like any dysfunctional marriage, the debt and spending problems aren’t really the problems. The real problems are the attitudes and the foolish, foolish rhetoric.

Obama’s “inherited” problems in the Middle East? Sorry, every President inherits bad stuff. Boehner’s “blank check” nonsense? Sorry, that’s just patently false.

Of course, I might feel more kindly if they didn’t keep interrupting my life and TV programming to give me all these dramatic and passive aggressive updates on their relationship woes. But The Bachelorette was especially compelling last night. And you know how I feel about that.

And for those of you not yet sick of hearing about the brawl over the national debt, my favorite article on the subject is written by James Fallows and simply called The Chart That Should Accompany All Discussions of the Debt Ceiling. Check it out. And do read it all the way to the end of the “UPDATE” section before sending me huffy comments. Or better still, direct any huffy comments to Fallows. He wrote the article and actually has some sort of mild political clout. I continue to have opinions but so far none of them have succeeded in changing anything, so I wouldn’t say arguing with me really needs to be anybody’s top priority.

Sigh.

On the other hand, I did find this sort of awesome Josh Groban clip today.

It made my day better.

Maybe instead of arguing over the debt ceiling we could get together around a campfire and sing some of Groban’s new compositions? Ponies and rainbows, people. That’s what we need.

Oh, and fur pillows.

3 thoughts on “Ah, politics…

Leave a Reply

