Our Disney Adventure

Ha ha!

My first day back has been extremely successful so far, if success can be measured in terms of groceries bought and washer machine buttons pushed. Less successful decisions of the day include: moisturizing my hands five second before trying to eat a peanut butter and jelly sandwich. Pretty sure sandwiches aren’t supposed to taste like greasy cocoa butter.

The vacation was lovely in that it was SO NICE for both of us to be away from the daily grind, and it was really good to see family, and Disney is always a good time, and The Wizarding World of Harry Potter is fantastic, and if you live in Michigan any day in which you do not need a winter coat already has a lot going for it, you know?

At the gates to H Pitty on one of the sunny days

On the other hand, any vacation that leaves you referencing certain days as “the one with the tornado” carries a certain level of ambivalence. It poured for 3 out of 7 days, and I don’t mean a two hour thundershower in the afternoon. I mean all day.

That wasn’t super fun.

The tornado touched down in Kissimmee—about ten miles from our campsite. Certain members of the family might have taken shelter in the sturdy cement block laundry facilities and certain other members might have tried to sleep through it. I’m not sure either ended up being super productive. I never did hear the full story of the tornado, but it must not have come any closer than ten miles, and the crazy windstorm finally just turned into a regular storm.

There were a few touchy bits where I sat inside to weigh down the tent while Carl held together the tarp outside. But those were just short gusts, and they didn’t last long.

Carl’s brain is exactly wired for the sort of precise, detailed, nonverbal challenges of—say—trouncing all comers in a first person shooter game or keeping a semi-crappy tent dry in a 3 day thunderstorm. Not so the spongy gray in my head. My instincts lead me unerringly to hotels and pizza parlors when the whole camping-with-thunderstorms thing strikes, but Carl tirelessly reties tarps, monitors tent corners for pooling water, tapes up holes, adjusts flaps.

In the end we stayed pretty dry, though the bottom of our tent swayed and bulged at times, uncomfortably reminiscent of a water bed. And happily the weather improved as the week went on, ending with a couple of blazing blue days at the end.

A good trip.

And now we’re home, and it feels strange to be by myself all day. Shall try to make something of it, although if yesterday is any indication I might be headed for another long nap. Been trying to get over a raging cold, and sleep is about all I’m good for lately. Shall just post some quick pics and succumb.

The rooftops of Hogsmeade at HP

Carl samples the Butterbeer. (Delicious!)

Patty cake fun on the Disney bus

Carl and I stayed for a day at the Coronado Springs Resort after the rest of the fam split. Beautiful grounds, relaxing atmosphere. Wish we could’ve stayed longer…

5 thoughts on “Our Disney Adventure

  1. Mmmm….great shots. Miss you. Seen It’s Complicated? Am watching it slowly and thinking that it is a perfect you-I-and-panful-of-brownies movie. 🙂

    • I haven’t, but I’m all about brownies and Meryl Streep is usually a good time. 🙂 We’ll have to check it out. And I totally second the missing thing. Looking forward to talking again soon!

  2. Oooh, Coronado Springs. That must have been fun. I’m glad you had a good trip despite the tornado.

    Hey, have you discovered the joy of Catalog Living? This totally cracks me up. I think you’d like it, too. They take pictures from real catalogs and write captions for them about the lives of Gary and Elaine, the people who live in the pictures. I mean, how could you not love this, or this, or this? Just thought I’d share.

    • Lol. Love that site. I remember seeing it once before when you shared it on your blog, but I haven’t caught up with it lately. We got our Pottery Barn catalogue in the mail a few weeks ago, and it’s nice to see they’ve already got some of the same pictures up.

  3. Thanks for sharing your pictures and time! It was sort of wet and wild, but it was sure fun! On the other hand, Dad has talked me into putting the motor home on the market. 15 people in an RV is a little much, even if we are good buddies!

Leave a Reply

