Mental Health Days

I’m taking a mental health day—not so much from the blog, just from writing in general. It’s been a long time coming. I never used to believe in writer’s block. Seemed to me that if you sat down and demanded 500 or 1500 words or whatever the words would be forthcoming. Seemed like a matter of discipline.

Ha ha.

Sure. Maybe I could still churn out those 500 words. If this is writer’s block—which, granted, who knows because I’ve never really felt this before—it doesn’t necessarily affect the fingers or the part of your brain that formulates the words.

It’s not in the brain so much as the heart.

It’s writing a sentence and then self-destructing in second guessing.

It’s just time for a break.

So I have nothing planned today. Maybe will read some Cranford. Maybe will scrapbook. Maybe will clean. Maybe will just watch movies all day. I don’t know. So far all I’ve done is sleep in, eat breakfast, and put together this fantastic cucumber sauce for tonight’s gyros.

We’ll see.

Anyway it’s Dr. Seuss’s birthday. It’s a good day for a mental health vacation, right?  All I need are Thing 1 and Thing 2.

2 thoughts on “Mental Health Days

  1. Thanks for the recipe for cucumber sauce! I’ll try it.

    Maybe your writer’s block is from frustration over wondering who will publish your books. What about forgetting all about publishers and just going back to writing the best book you know how to write and then go from there? I think there’s something to your idea that talent and tolerance for religious expression might be related, although America is hugely more “spiritual” and open to spiritual ideas than it was when I was growing up, so I think you’re writing at a good time for being able to express yourself through characters who experience life body, soul, and spirit.

  2. The thing about writing is that it’s creative. You can set quotas on production but not on creativity. You have to be inspired. And sometimes you just aren’t. Goals require creativity like a river, but real life delivers creativity like rain. The flow rate isn’t constant. Sometimes it’s drizzling. Sometimes it’s pouring. And sometimes there’s a drought. I think it’s really healthy that you’re just stepping back and waiting. As the daughter of a writer, I know I always really enjoyed it when my mom had writer’s block. We’d take long, rambling walks and do other indulgent hooky-playing things while my mom waited for that next burst of inspiration. And it always came. And then she would type feverishly for hours. I think that’s just the nature of artistic pursuits.

Leave a Reply

