Kibbles & Bits

Am aiming for wild productivity today, so my thoughts are a bit slap dash. In no particular order, then:

  • If you like fantasy, science fiction, and book chat, you should probably drop by my brother Joel’s new bloggy digs. Even if you don’t like fantasy, science fiction, or book chat, you could always stop by and say cheers. He’s a friendly sort.
  • Am reading Kate Fox’s book Watching the English and chuckling lots. Will probably review later; it’s been great fun.
  • Speaking of books, one of my goals this year is to read a book or two on pregnancy/childbirth/infancy. Any recommendations?
  • The Plymouth Ice Festival starts today! Carl and I have been trying to make it for 3 years running. Cross your fingers for us. Maybe we’ll finally get to see it.
  • Richard Hawley’s music makes me happy. The crooners are back, friends. Check out the greaser hair and big glasses. Sigh.

  • It’s getting exciting at the Australian Open!! Closing weekend for the first tennis slam of 2011. I’m pulling for Nadal. I always do.

And that’s all I got for today… unless one counts a rather gaping word deficit on the draft. Cheers.

5 thoughts on “Kibbles & Bits

  1. OK, you know I’m salivating to tell you all my favorite books. Ina May’s Guide to Childbirth is a FABULOUS read. The whole first half is some very hippy birth stories, and the second half is the very best description I’ve read of how our bodies actually work in labor written by the nation’s most renowned midwife.

    Natural Childbirth the Bradley Way is a great nuts and bolts intro to all the issues of pregnancy and birth from nutrition during pregnancy to how to handle labor to a bit about getting started with breastfeeding.

    And speaking of breastfeeding, there’s the absolute best researched book I have ever read, Breastfeeding Made Simple. It is also a great guide to understanding an awful lot of infant behavior. I read it when I was in the middle of successfully nursing my second baby and still felt like it was FULL of epiphanies. Like a friend of mine said, the book answered every question she had about why her newborn did what he did.

    There’s also a really cool little booklet which I’d be happy to pass along to you (I had thought I was buying five copies, but I actually bought five ten packs), called Unto the Least of These, which was another huge epiphany for me. No other book has shaped my infant mothering more. You can read the unrevised version online here, but it’s pretty old, so you’d have to disregard the outdated sleep positioning stuff. The new version is up to date with SIDS research. The gist of the booklet is that, rather than trying to control our babies’ behavior so that it doesn’t bother us, we should treat our infants in such a way that learn what is true about God. Let me know if you’d like a copy.

    I have a lot of other books I love, but these are my very, very favorites, so I’ll keep it simple and stop there.

  2. I would read “Pushed” by Block and “Born in the USA” by Wagner for information about the maternity system in America, “The Thinking Woman’s Guide To A Better Birth” by Goer for mechanics of birth and labor and “Babycatcher” by Vincent if you want a faster, page-turner life-story of a homebirth midwife. I also think “A Child Is Born” by Nilsson is a breathtaking photo-journalism jaunt through the womb during pregnancy…I loved looking through it while I was pregnant. That’s way too many books, but it gives you lots of choices depending on what kind of reading it is that you’re looking for.

    Am now off to listen to Richard Hawley in your honor

  3. Oh, yes, everything Carlie mentioned is great, too! I own all but “A Child is Born” (though I have borrowed it from my midwives) and “Born in the USA” (haven’t read, but I’ve really loved all the interviews I’ve seen with Wagner), and I can’t believe I forgot “The Thinking Woman’s Guide!” I usually list that one.

    If you read “Pushed,” I’d love to hear your thoughts on the pro-choice twist at the end. I find myself in the disturbing position of believing strongly in parental rights (that is the right of parents to choose the course they believe is safest and best for their children), and also in the right of the baby to stay alive. It all feels cut and dried when it comes to abortion, but when a hospital orders a woman to have a cesarean and threatens to (and in rare cases actually does) take her baby away if she refuses, it suddenly goes really fuzzy.

Leave a Reply

