Thanksgiving Test Drive

I think I might have stumbled upon a tradition.

Not sure exactly what precipitated the madness, but I went out and bought a ginormous turkey (just the breast… all 7+ pounds of it) earlier this week. Stuffing, potatoes, cranberry sauce.

Oh, and it was delicious.

Just the two of us and our autumn-themed candles and jack-o-lantern cosiness. The last two years Thanksgiving has been fun but crazy—so much driving and dashing around in order to be with both families in that sort of home-but-not-home feeling that inevitably occurs when you start your own home. It sounded nice to have a little low-key test turkey dinner on our own.

And the brilliant thing is that it’s not going to spoil our appetite for the real thing, because with only two people you don’t really have a chance to go for all the yummy sides (like yams. Carl hates yams, so I’m still waiting for a crack at those). No pumpkin pie. No squash or green peas.

Just turkey and cosiness.

And more turkey.

7 pounds is a lot of meat for us, but I’ve got turkey sandwiches and a turkey pot pie lined up, and if we still have more I’m thinking about a turkey-spinach-ricotta stuffed jumbo shells in red sauce.

I think we’ll be okay.

In other, non-food related news, I spent the day mailing out query letters and trying to whip the synopsis into better shape. It occurs to me (as it often does in this stage of the process) that I would really have made an excellent secretary since I ADORE filing things and printing out extra copies and addressing letters and generally straightening corners.

Perhaps slightly OCD?

OH.

Speaking of, I took an “autism spectrum disorders” test the other day for fun, and it turns out those things aren’t ANY FUN AT ALL because apparently I’m knocking on the door of autism. Not kidding. Normal is 16. Autistic is 32. I’m 29.

I’m pretty sure it’s just rigged against introverts, because I kept answering a resounding NO, ABSOLUTELY NO when it asked if I remember numbers easily and see patterns in everything and can’t tell the difference between a frown and a smile… and then it would be all snarky and “are you self-directed and happy to work alone?” At which point I would have to admit that sometimes—once in a while—I kind of do.

Borderline autistic!

Well, one is rather savant-like in one’s abilities, it’s true. I celebrated by eating a sandwich and reading a couple of chapters in this really fascinating biography of Nancy Cunard (“Heiress, muse, political idealist” the tagline says, so really what’s not to love?).

Must dash.

5 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Test Drive

  1. I think having your own little Thanksgiving is positively brilliant! I remember really struggling as newly weds to carve out our own space and traditions at holidays. Our families are so far apart that we could only ever be with one or the other, but still there was the madness of traveling, combined with that home but not at home feeling if it was your family, or the “this is not at all what this particular holiday is supposed to feel like” feeling if it was the spouse’s. Now that we’ve gotten ten years under our belts, things are for sure better in the holiday department, but it was stuff exactly like you did with your Thanksgiving warm up that helped us get to that point.

    Also, SO agree that the whole Autism spectrum analysis is biased against introverts and also, I’d wager, scholarly types, or anyone who has any kind of internal thought life. Which, I think, reflects our culture’s preference for extroverts, and general suspicion that introverts are not entirely “OK.” Whatever.

  2. Introverts are good. And you are not autistic. I suggested to A that he should perhaps take it. Heh. (Totally kidding btw….)

    I LOVE the idea of your own private Thanksgiving. I have been doing little things with the kids for our own celebration and I just talked to A last night about ways to make the Christmas season have hints of “our family” in it and not just be about going home to be the kids again. I love seeing everyone and I love being “home” for Christmas but I really ache for our own little piece of tradition and the cozy, snug, relaxing feeling you can’t really have when traveling with three children on the holiday.

  3. I just watched/ taught with a news clip about an autistic child who was a jazz genius. I could relate to some of his personality traits even though I am by no means a jazz artist. Good to know it’s normal.

  4. I also love your Turkey traditon! So great and inspiring! Jon and I don’t really have traditions yet.. We’re just starting to find out what we like and how we like to do things. I find your turkey meal very inspiring!
    Oh, and I think you are so not autistic! (Thank God!). I’m currently seeing pretty many autistic kids and have to admit that I’m still in the state where it isn’t “just work” but I do take their stories home and am constantly thinking about them and what I’d do if I got an autistic child. I mean, of course I’d know what I’d do, but yeah. It scares me. It’s a world of it’s own, the autistic one.

Leave a Reply

