First Read-Through

Day of truth!

After finishing up the first draft in March, I set the crime novel aside for a few weeks to revise another project (again) and send it out to a third batch of agents. It’s getting to the point with the Lilies novel where I’m starting to get ambivalent about selling it. There are some things I continue to love about that book, but time naturally changes my perspective. I see all the things I would have done differently. And, of course, the mind races on to new and better things.

Today, howev, I’m finally free to sit down with a giant mug of green tea and read through the crime novel. It’s going to be hard to resist the temptation to line edit, but I want this first read to be quick. Just a pad of paper and the internal note system in Word to jot down all the big changes.

I’ve been trying to work on a 3 draft system: First draft is rough, second draft is for major plot/character changes, third draft is for language.

Still negotiating the tradeoff between efficiency and quality. Great writing is incredibly important, but I can’t afford to take five years for each book either. Life is way too quick for that.

Anywho. The tea is brewed and the words await.

… Wish I felt less like crap. Couldn’t fall asleep until after 4am this morning, and woke up with a jolt at 9. It’s a long story, but I’m pretty sure it’s my BCP acting up. I’ve never looked forward to a dr’s appointment before, but this year’s check up can’t come soon enough. I have some questions that want answering.

In the mean time, we do what we’ve always done: write and feel a mood boost simply because the sky is blue today.

2 thoughts on “First Read-Through

  1. Good for you! Power on, I say…revise, write, and keep sending everything out! No loss! Its easy to get jaded about your own stuff but, its hard to know how much is just your own tired perspective and how much is reality after a while. I do that a lot lately with my paintings. I look at things to long and then I can’t really figure out what is wrong with it or how to fix it and it all looks like crap and if I step away for ask my painter mentors for their take they often have a clear, fresh and much less extreme perspective. I am perpetually my own worst critic.

    Stink about your bcp!!! Hope your appt. comes soon and you get to sleep. Ick to no rest.

  2. I’m with Carlie so guess I’ll just second all those motions. I think your writing is great. I’m on to my third draft of Bless Your Baby, and I love working on it but see how I could make it so much better if I just anguished over every line until it was clever…which would take five years, like you say, and by then I’d probably disagree with some of my advice and find that other advice is out of date…no end to how we could improve and change things. 😦 So, like Carlie says…write, edit, send out, and keep goin’. Don’t know what else we can do. BUT, I think your writing (and Carlie’s painting) have real promise, so please keep it up!!!

Leave a Reply

